henley-on-thames town council
Icons made by Freepik from www.flaticon.com is licensed by CC 3.0 BY

Sign up for our newsletter

Why do we ask for this information?









The Old Fire Station Gallery

Welcome to our website page for the Old Fire Station Gallery, a converted fire station providing a magnificent gallery for artists to display their paintings, sculptures, tapestries and photography.  The Gallery can be hired on a weekly basis.

            

If you would like to hire this space please click here to download our booking form.  The form is in 'word' format so you can complete and return it to us by email.  Please return the form as a word document to l.clark@henleytowncouncil.gov.uk, accompanied by any jpeg images you wish to accompany your information to be shown below.  The same information will be added to our sister 'What's On' website.   

Please contact our information centre to check availability.

Note that the Old Fire Station Gallery can be hired for half price in January and February each year.  This means if you are a local organisation or resident you can hire the facility for just £132.50 per week, or £150.00 per week if you are a non-local hirer.

 

THE FOLLOWING EXHIBITIONS WILL BE SHOWING IN 2019 & 2020                                                                                                                                        
 

 

Thursday 12 September - Tuesday 17 September

In and out of the garden

Date: Thursday 12th September to Tuesday 17th September

Opening hours: 10am to 4pm each day

Local artists Jenny Atkins, John Whittaker and Kate Ellison-Bourne present a vibrant, expressive exhibition and sale of original paintings, prints, cards and sculpture pieces.

Do come along!

 

 

Thursday 19 September - Tuesday 24 September

Michael Warner

The Henley 2019 Space Art and Artefacts Exhibition: Celebrating 50th Anniversary of Humans Landing on the Moon

Raising funds for the Henley Chiltern Centre for Disabled Children, from 10:00am to 8:00pm on Saturday 21st and Sunday 22nd September 2019, the Old Fire Station Gallery, Henley-on-Thames, will be hosting an exhibition combining science-based space art with a private collection of historic artefacts from NASA Apollo mission to the moon.

Dr Michael Warner is a British private collector of rare NASA Apollo mission artefacts, including the returned-to-earth Apollo 17 'Rock Manifest, recording the weight of rock samples collected on the moon, inscribed by astronaut and geologist Jack Schmitt whilst on the lunar surface and impregnated with lunar dust; the original Star Chart used to navigate Apollo 15 into lunar orbit; and the hand-written procedures frantically improvised by mission control in Houston to rescue the marooned crew of Apollo 13.  On-line exhibition: http://iilc.online   

 

 

 

Thursday 26 September - Tuesday 1 October

Painting Duo

Local artist Sally-Anne Lenton is back with her colourist paintings, some oil seascapes and some more quirky animals, along with some special photographs in various mediums.  Also introducing New Zealand artist Damian 'Damo' Barnshaw.  Having had a few years he has now found inspiration on his travels to Thiland which has produced some stunning abstract and colourful paintings.

   

 

Thursday 3 October - Tuesday 8 October

Henley Art and Crafts Guild

Autumn Exhibition 2019

Open daily 10am - 4pm

Open view Friday 4th October 2019 6pm - 8pm

In this exhibition Guild members will be showing paintings, prints, drawings and sculptures which will have been selected by an external selector (usually a local art dealer or teacher).  This often results in vibrant but harmonious exhibition with the very best of the Guilds work on display.

For further information about the Guild and our exhibition please visit www.henley-art-crafts-guild.org or look at out FB page - Henley Art and Crafts Guild.

 

 

Thursday 10 October - Monday 14 October

FINDING THE EDGE

Painting and Sculpture Exhibition

10am to 4pm

Jane Hibbert and Liz Crossfield met at university whilst studying for their fine art degrees and have been firm friends since.  Both Liz and Jane are now full time artists, and this exhibition is the culmination of recent work within their chosen mediums exploring the theme 'finding the edge'.  Both artists have a creative and expansive approach to their work, constantly evolving their respective aespective approaches.

Liz Crossfield, Painting

Influenced by her Scaravelli yoga practice, Liz Crossfield enquiry plays with the elasticity and 'butteriness' of oil paint, creating an honest and emotive language that captures the breath, efforlessly blossoming, in a joyful and poetic manner.  Liz is interested in 'the feminine vulnerability' juxtaposed with female resilience: armored, fortified and immune and all at once soft and diaphanous; celebrating an effervescent sense of I'm a women and I'm alive'.

Instagram: liz_crossfieldart                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               Website: liz-crossfield.format.com

Jane Hibbert, Sculpture

Jane Hibbert's abstract sculptures are strongly influenced by natural rhythms: I'm intrigued by the underlying order within nature and how this cascades throughout the natural world'.  They have an organic quality to them; some are rippled as though moved by water or the wind, others are pendulous and teardrop shaped.  Their smoothness and soft curves speak of objects that have been weathered by the elements.  Jane works in stone, bronze and ceramics.

Website: janehibbert.com

 

 

Thursday 17 October - Tuesday 22 October

Rosemary Hudson

Details to follow.

 

 

Thursday 24 October - Tuesday 29 October

Cat Noble

Fire & Ice

Cat Noble received her BA (Hons) Glass at the University for the Creative Arts in Farnham.  She is primarily a glass artist but also paints abstract landscapes and creates pieces with other media including Textiles, Ceramics and Metal.  Cat takes her inspiration from the natural world around her, preferring curves and texture which emphasise flow and movement rather than straight and clean cut lines.                     

           

 

Thursday 31 October - Tuesday 5 November

Danny Clifford

Details to follow.

 

 

Thursday 7 November - Tuesday 19 November

CELEBRATION

'Print at the Park' are celebrating at Henley Old Fire Station Gallery, their tenth anniversary as a cohesive printmaking group. 

Since conception the members have continually developed their skills employing many different printmaking techniques such as lino cut, etching, monoprint and collagraphy.  These techniques are used, sometimes in conjuction with each other, to create many diverse exciting images. 

The exhibition is non thematic.  It is purely a celebration of the art work brought to you by the members of 'Print at the Park'.

 

 

 

Thursday 21 November - Tuesday 26 November

Littlewick Arts

Littlewick Arts at Henley

Details to follow.       

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                          

Thursday 28 November - Tuesday 3 December

Henley Art & Craft Guild

Henley Arts & Crafts Gulid Christmas Exhibition 2019

Details to follow.

 

 

Thursday 5 December - Tuesday 10 December

Gordon Behr

Details to follow.

 

 

Thursday 12 December - Tuesday 17 December

Peter Burness-Smith

Details to follow.

 

 

Wednesday 18 December - Wednesday 8 January

No exhibition bookings due to Christmas.

 

 

Thursday 16 January - Tuesday 21 January

Andrew Stringfellow

Details to follow.

 

 

Thursday 30 January - Tuesday 4 February

The Live Well Collective Ltd

The Live Well Collective pop-up

Details to follow.

 

 

Thursday 6 February - Tuesday 11 February

Natasha Martell

Artisans of South Oxfordshire pop up shop

Details to follow.

 

 

Thursday 27 February - Tuesday 3 March

Fiona Hayward and Gwen Ryan

Details to follow.

 

 

Thursday 5 March - Tuesday 17 March

Reading Guild of Artists

Details to follow.

 

 

Thursday 9 April - Tuesday 14 April

Windsor Artists collective

Creative and Innovative Art

Details to follow.

 

 

Thursday 23 April - Tuesday 5 May

Henley Arts & Crafts Guild

Spring Exhibition

Details to follow.

 

 

Thursday 14 May - Tuesday 19 May

Chelsea Fringe

Details to follow.

 

 

Thursday 21 May - Tuesday 26 May

Chelsea Fringe

Details to follow.

 

 

Thursday 18 June - Tuesday 23 June

Freedom in Painting

Cornwall, colour & Coast

Details to follow.

 

 

Thursday 25 June - Tuesday 30 June

Rosemary Hudson

Details to follow.

 

 

Thursday 2 July - Tuesday 7 July

Artisans of Oxford

Artisans one week pop up shop

Details to follow.

 

 

Thursday 16 July - Tuesday 21 July

Sarah Southwell

Details to follow.

 

 

Thursday 30 July - Tuesday 11 August

Catherine Servonat-Blanc

Details to follow.

 

 

Thursday 1 October - Tuesday 6 October

Henley Arts & Craft Guild

Details to follow.

 

 

Thursday 26 November - Tuesday 1 December

Henley Arts & Craft Guild

Details to follow.

 

 

Wednesday 23 December - Tuesday 8 January

No exhibition bookings due to Christmas.