henley-on-thames town council
Icons made by Freepik from www.flaticon.com is licensed by CC 3.0 BY

Sign up for our newsletter

Why do we ask for this information?









The Old Fire Station Gallery

Welcome to our website page for the Old Fire Station Gallery, a converted fire station providing a magnificent gallery for artists to display their paintings, sculptures, tapestries and photography.  The Gallery can be hired on a weekly basis.

            

If you would like to hire this space please email  l.clark@henleytowncouncil.gov.uk

Note that the Old Fire Station Gallery can be hired for half price in January and February each year. 

THE FOLLOWING EXHIBITIONS WILL BE SHOWING IN 2020                                                                                                                                               

 

Thursday 23 January - Tuesday 28 January

Gwen Ryan

Fibre Fushion

Exhibition of wearable art

By local artist Gwen

Sculpture on hats, painting with fibres.  Come and see how the most ancient textile structure is being made.  Demonstrations will be Thursday, Friday, Sunday and Monday morning.  The gallery will be open 10am to 6pm every day.  

 

 

Thursday 6 February - Tuesday 11 February

Natasha Martell

Artisans of South Oxfordshire pop up shop

Details to follow.

 

 

Thursday 20 February - Tuesday 25 February

Tuesday Studio

Detail to follow.

 

 

Friday 6  March - Monday 16 March

Reading Guild of Artists

'Here comes the sun: Harrison in Henley'

Exhibition open to the public daily 10.30am to 4.30pm

Opening Event Saturday 7 March 4pm to 8pm, all welcome.

 

 

Thursday 19 March - Tuesday 31 March

The Poetics of Print

Interpreting Metro-land and poems of Betjeman by 14 Bodenpress printmakers.

Techniques include screen-print, linocuts, relief prints, etching, drypoint, collagraph and monotypes all created to a uniform size that creates a pleasant experience.

www.bodenpress.co.uk

 

 

Thursday 9 April - Tuesday 14 April

Windsor Artists collective

Creative and Innovative Art

Details to follow.

 

 

Thursday 16 April - Tuesday 21 April

Open daily 10am to 5pm

Barn Art Gallery of Crazies Hill and arttobuy.com are thrilled to bring an exciting exhibition of original works to the centre of Henley for their inaugural 2020 'Variety is the Spice of Life' exhibition.  Showing an eclectic and varied selection of uniquepieces by talented amateur and professional contemporary artists, this exhibiton features an enchanting mix of landscape, seascape, animals and abstract paintings designed to broaden viewer experience and appeal to a variety of tastes.

Free entry and plenty to browse - add some spice to your art life in 2020.

For further information please see ww.arttobuy.com or call 0118 940 2103.

 

 

Thursday 23 April - Tuesday 5 May

Henley Arts & Crafts Guild

Spring Exhibition

Details to follow.

 

 

Thursday 7 May - Tuesday 12 May

Marjaana Vaataja 

Details to follow.

 

 Thursday 14 May - Tuesday 19 May

Chelsea Fringe

Details to follow.

 

 

Thursday 21 May - Tuesday 26 May

Chelsea Fringe

Details to follow.

 

 

 

Thursday 28 May - Tuesday 9 June

Jack Free

Details to follow.

 

Thursday 11 June - Tuesday 16 June

The Henley College

Details to follow.

 

 

 Thursday 18 June - Tuesday 23 June

Freedom in Painting

Cornwall, colour & Coast

Details to follow.

 

 

Thursday 25 June - Tuesday 30 June

Rosemary Hudson

Details to follow.

 

 

Thursday 2 July - Tuesday 7 July

Artisans of Oxford

Artisans one week pop up shop

Details to follow.

 

 

Thursday 9 July - Tuesday 14 July

Anthony Bowers

Details to follow.

 

Thursday 16 July - Tuesday 21 July

Sarah Southwell

Details to follow.

 

 

Thursday 23 July - Tuesday 28 July

RUSTIC WOODEN CHAIRS, ANIMALSPORTRAITS AND VARIOUS WARES

This exhibition combines the work of Helena Levett and Derrick Dunthorne.  There are two main strands to HL's art practice.  Life-like animal portraits and also expressive colourful portrait paintings.

Derrick Dunthorne has been making chairs by 'bodging' (green wood-working) for a number of years now.  Not only aesthetically satisfying they are surprisingly comfortable.  He teaches this traditional skill to people at his home.

 

 

 

Thursday 30 July - Tuesday 11 August

Catherine Servonat-Blanc

Details to follow.

 

 

Thursday 1 October - Tuesday 6 October

Henley Arts & Craft Guild

Details to follow.

 

 

Thursday 26 November - Tuesday 1 December

Henley Arts & Craft Guild

Details to follow.

 

 

Wednesday 23 December - Tuesday 8 January

No exhibition bookings due to Christmas.